• Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Employment Doing Business Our Community How Do i...
  • Apply For
  • Search For
  • Access
  • Pay
  • Register For
  • View
  • OpenBooks

    You may order a certified copy of a birth, death or marriage record online using your credit card through our only approved official internet business partner of the Tarrant County Clerk's office, VitalChek Network Inc.






    There are two types of marriage licenses--Formal marriage license and Declaration and Registration of an Informal Marriage (Common law). The basic requirements are the same for both types of marriage.

    • Both parties must appear in person.
    • Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
    • Must have a valid, government-issued picture identification. Names will be reflected on the marriage license exactly as they appear on the IDs. The County Clerk's office cannot change the name or spelling of name on ID. Forms of acceptable, valid identification include:
      • Driver's license
      • State ID
      • Passport
      • Military ID
      • Visa
    • Must know Social Security number.
    • A blood test is NOT required.
    Effective January 1, 2019, a $100 Out-of-State Applicant fee will be assessed if neither applicant is able to prove Texas residency.  Forms of acceptable proof include:
    • Driver's License
    • State ID
    • Handgun License
    • Vehicle Registration
    • Property Tax Statement or Homestead Exemption
    • Voter Registration Card
    • Military Orders reflecting Texas as Home of Record
    • Income Tax
    • Paycheck Stub or Letter of Employment on Company Letterhead
    • Receipt of Benefits from State Agency
    • Utility bills (12 months history)
    • No PO Box addresses will be accepted


    A formal marriage license can be obtained from any county in Texas and the marriage can be performed anywhere. If the marriage takes place outside of Texas, contact the appropriate state office, consulate or embassy to learn the marriage requirements for that state or country.

    Additional requirements and information:

    • There is a 72-hour waiting period after the license is issued before the marriage ceremony can take place. The 72-hour waiting period can be waived by meeting one of three criteria.

      • The waiting period does not apply if an applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty. Military ID must be shown to the person who performs the marriage ceremony.

      • The waiting period does not apply if the applicant obtains a 72-hour waiver signed by a District Judge. Waiver must be shown and kept by the person performing the ceremony.

      • The waiting period does not apply if the applicants possess a valid Twogether in Texas certificate or a premarital counseling certificate from a known counselor.  Certificate must be printed and shown to the person issuing the marriage license, as well as to who performs the ceremony.

    • The marriage must take place within 90 days from the date of issuance--no exceptions.

    • If divorced, there is a 30-day waiting period after the divorce is final before remarriage--unless waived. If the 30-day waiting period is waived, a certified copy must be presented at the time the license is purchased.

    • The fee is $75 cash, Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover. (Credit card use adds an additional 1.73 percent fee.)


    • The fee is $15 for couples who attend the State of Texas approved Marriage Education Class and present a printed and valid Twogether in Texas Certificate or similar premarital counseling course certificate.  For more information visit the Twogether in Texas website or your officiant.  
    • Once the ceremony has been performed and the license completed, the recording process can be expedited by the license being hand-delivered to one of our 8 locations.  If received from one of the persons on the license, the recording process will happen while you wait. If not, the recorded license must be mailed to the newlyweds.


    Marriage license applications may be filled out and saved online. However, applicants must appear in person to sign and purchase the marriage license. Please note: additional information will be required of each applicant when the marriage license is issued. The process can be completed at the downtown location or at a Tarrant County sub-courthouse location.

    Online Application


    Effective September 1, 2017, if either applicant is under 18 years of age, a court order granted by this state under Texas Family Code Chapter 31, removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purpose is required.  In addition, minor applicants must show certified copy of birth certificate with current school ID, driver's license or state ID.


    An absentee affidavit is to be completed if an applicant is unable to appear personally before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license. The other applicant may apply for a marriage license on behalf of the absent applicant.

    The County Clerk may not issue a marriage license for which both applicants are absent unless both applicants are:

    • a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation


    A person may agree to marriage by the appearance of a proxy appointed in the affidavit authorized by Subchapter A if the person is:

    (1)  a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and

    (2)  unable to attend the ceremony.

    Absentee Affidavit

    This document contains form fields that can be edited within your browser. Some browser security settings may prevent access to PDF forms. If you are unable to edit the form in your browser, try downloading the file to your system and opening it directly. To download the file, right-click the link and choose the "Save link as..." or "Save target as..." option.


    An informal marriage license can be obtained and recorded by a couple who agree to be married, and after the agreement, they lived together in this state as a couple and represented to others that they were married.

    • Both parties must be present. An absentee affidavit cannot be used for an informal marriage license.

    • A person under 18 years of age may not obtain an informal marriage license.

    • A person may not obtain an informal marriage license if presently married to someone else.

    • The fee is $40 cash, Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover. (Credit card use adds an additional 1.73 percent fee.)


    Licensed or ordained Christian ministers and priests, Jewish rabbis, persons who are officers of religious organizations and who are duly authorized by the organization to conduct marriage ceremonies; Justices of the Supreme Court, Justices of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Justices of the District, County and Probate Courts, Judges of the County Courts at Law, Courts of Domestic Relations and Juvenile Courts, retired Justices and Judges of such courts, Justices of the Peace, retired Justices of the Peace, the Judge of a Municipal Court, the Judges and Magistrate of the Federal Courts of this state.


    Monday-Friday 8 a.m. -- 5 p.m.

    For more information, please call 817-884-1550.

    Marriage License Search

    Fee Schedule

    Vital Records Locations

    Marriage License Copies


    The person who performs a marriage ceremony is responsible for returning the marriage license to our office within 30 days from the date of marriage. The license can be returned in the provided envelope or mailed to:

    Tarrant County Clerk
    200 Taylor Street, Suite 301
    Fort Worth, TX 76196

    This page was last modified on April 21, 2021


    County Telephone Operator 817-884-1111

    Tarrant County provides the information contained in this web site as a public service. Every effort is made to ensure that information provided is correct. However, in any case where legal reliance on information contained in these pages is required, the official records of Tarrant County should be consulted. Tarrant County is not responsible for the content of, nor endorses any site which has a link from the Tarrant County web site.

    This site is best experienced with supported browsers: Internet Explorer 9 and above, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple Safari. If you use an older or unsupported browser, you might notice that some features do not function properly. Click the browser name above to learn more about the recommended browsers.

    County Seal

    100 E. Weatherford, Fort Worth, Texas 76196