fees in Texas are based on the county you live in and can be
$28 or $33, depending on whether or not you reside in an emissions
compliant county. Title applicants in Tarrant County and
surrounding counties pay the $33 title fee. When transferring a
title in Texas, the title fee is due along with the $2.50
registration transfer fee or the full registration
fee if the vehicle is not currently registered.
- Emissions fees may be added for diesel trucks over 14,000
pounds gross weight. Model years 1996 and earlier is 2.5% of the
total consideration paid for the vehicle, while the rate for model
years 1997 and later is 1%.
- Duplicate titles are $2 if the application is mailed in or
$5.45 to pick up at a TxDMV
Regional Service Center. A Form
VTR-34 is required, along with an acceptable form of ID for
the owner. A lien release may be required. Duplicate title
applications are not processed through the county tax office. The
application must be mailed in or brought in to a Regional Service
Center. For more information, including ID requirements, visit the
- When transferring a title, 6.25% motor vehicle sales tax is
due on the greater of the purchase price or Standard
- If the vehicle is a qualified gift, a Texas State Comptroller
14-317 is required to be signed by the Donor(s) and
Recipient(s). The Gift Tax is $10, and is paid in lieu of the motor
vehicle sales tax. If a vehicle is a gift but does not qualify as a
gift for tax purposes, tax will be paid on the Standard Presumptive
Value of the vehicle.
- An appraisal Form
14-128 may be accepted in any private party sale to
establish the amount of motor vehicle sales tax due. The sales
price and Standard Presumptive Value are not considered when an
appraisal is presented. The appraisal must be completed within 20
days of the sale, or the date the vehicle is brought into Texas, and
provided at the time of transfer.
- Penalties may apply when the title transfer is completed 30
days after the date of sale or the date the vehicle is brought into
- More information on Motor Vehicle Sales Tax from the Texas
State Comptroller can be found here.