Online Services Government
  • Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Residents Visitors Business Employment

    FAQ's - Dealers and Businesses

    You will also find Frequently Asked Questions in other sections of the website for services we provide.  Just select a link below to access other FAQ's.

    Special Inventory Tax

    If you have a general distinguishing number (GDN) issued by Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, state law requires you to report all sales and pay a tax on certain types of transactions.  Dealers of Vessel and Outboard Motor, Manufactured Housing, and Heavy Equipment (HDE) must also file.

    If you are new to SIT or just have questions, contact our office to speak with a specialist who can inform you what you need to do to be compliant with the law.

    Important Dates to Remember:

    • Annual Declarations for prior year transactions are due in the tax office and appraisal district by January 31 each year.
    • December:  Tax office mails Rate Letter that advises of your specific tax rate to use for the upcoming calendar year beginning January 1.
    • 10th day of each month:  Prior month reporting statement and payment is due in our office.
    • Late payments incur a 5 to 10 percent penalty depending on when received in tax office.
    • Reports not received timely incur a $500 late filing penalty for each month or part of a month in which statement is not filed.
    • Request for Late Filing Penalty Waiver must be received in writing not later than the 30th day after the date the statement was required to be filed.

    Monthly Reporting and Payment Options:

    You may report and pay SIT by any of the following methods:

    • By Mail
    • In person at any of our locations
    • Online - Requires a User Profile.  Please call or email us to get started with online reporting and paying.

    Forms and Instructions:

    Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

    Contact Us:

    Phone:  817-884-1963 or 817-884-1864

    Email:  vit@tarrantcounty.com

     

    Business Personal Property

    Rendition Penalty

    For business personal property tax accounts, the law requires that a 10 percent rendition penalty be assessed and collected where the owner fails to render values on a timely basis.  If you have any questions about this penalty, please contact the Tarrant Appraisal District  (TAD) at 817-284-0024. TAD is also responsible for questions concerning value, owner name, owner address or exemptions.

    Additional Collection Penalty

    On February 1, current year taxes become delinquent and will incur penalty and interest according to the schedule below.  An additional collection penalty may be charged on accounts that are delinquent on April 1 for personal property or July 1 for real property.  Mineral accounts are considered real property.  The collection penalty will be 15 percent or 20 percent of the total taxes, penalties and interest due, depending on your taxing jurisdiction.  After July, interest continues to accrue at 1 percent per month. 

    Taxes not paid by January 31 will increase as follows:

    If tax is paid in (MONTH) add: PENALTY + INTEREST = TOTAL PERCENTAGE (listed below)

    • February = 7 percent
    • March = 9 percent
    • April = 11 percent
    • May = 13 percent
    • June = 15 percent
    • July = 18 percent