Online Services Government
  • Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Residents Visitors Business Employment

    Ground Spraying Scheduled for Unincorporated Northwest Tarrant County


    Kelly Hanes

    Senior Public Information Officer

    Tarrant County Public Health

    817-321-5306 direct


    September 2, 2016 (Tarrant County, TX) – Tarrant County Public Health (TCPH) has confirmed the presence of West Nile Virus in a mosquito sample collected in unincorporated Northwest Tarrant County.

    The sample is from the area around Ruth’s Court ( map ). Weather permitting -- and with respect to Labor Day outdoor activities, TCPH will begin ground spraying efforts in this area on Tuesday, September 6, starting at 9 p.m. and concluding by 5 a.m. the following morning.

    In an effort to inform the public, TCPH has issued a notification to neighbors in the area and will continue until the time of spraying. You can find the most current information on our Facebook page or Be Mosquito Free webpage.

    To date, the department has tested 3,643 mosquito samples at TCPH’s North Texas Regional Laboratory; 420 samples from Tarrant County have resulted positive for WNV – Arlington (56), Bedford (11), Benbrook (5), Burleson (1), Colleyville (19) Crowley (12), DFW airport (7), Euless (25), Everman (1), Fort Worth (78), Grand Prairie (12), Grapevine (24), Haltom (6), Haslet (9), Hurst (14), Keller (4), Kennedale (7), Lake Worth (4), Mansfield (7), Naval Reserve Base (1),  N. Richland Hills (18), Pantego (14), Richland Hills (10), River Oaks (8), Saginaw (2), Sansom Park (5), Southlake (14), Unincorporated Tarrant County (30), Watauga (5), Westover Hills (11).

    TCPH would like to remind residents of the importance of taking personal protective measures to safeguard against West Nile Virus. Residents should routinely dump standing water on their property, use repellent, and dress for dusk to dawn.



    News release date: September 02, 2016