Online Services Government
  • Departments
  • Commissioners Court
  • Elected Officials
  • Courts
  • Justice of the Peace Courts
  • Constables
  • Residents Visitors Business Employment

    THE BAN ON OUTDOOR BURNING HAS BEEN LIFTED- March 28, 2017

     

    When drought conditions mandate a burn ban, the Tarrant County Commissioners Court will approve a ban on outdoor burning for a period of 90 days. During this time no open flames, sparks or embers are allowed. For our residents in the rural areas, we strongly suggest that you make sure you keep an area of approximately 30 feet mowed around your home and out buildings to prevent a fire from reaching your structures. A violation of the Court Order Prohibiting Outdoor Burning is a Class C Misdemeanor and punishable of a fine up to $500. Review the guidelines for outdoor cooking and outdoor welding during burn bans or contact the Tarrant County Fire Marshal's Office. If sufficient amounts of rainfall occur during a burn ban, the Tarrant County Fire Marshal may request a repeal of the burn ban.

    If burning is allowed, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Chapter 111, Subchapter B, governs outdoor burning in the State of Texas. The Tarrant County Fire Marshal’s Office reminds you that if you conduct an outside burn, you must observe the following requirements:

    • Burn only in the unincorporated areas of Tarrant County.
    • Contact the Tarrant County Fire Alarm Center at 817-232-9800 on the day you plan to burn to register your address and to confirm it is an allowable burn day. The Fire Alarm Center is open 24/7.
    • The party responsible for the burn must be present at all times and remains liable for damages.
    • Begin burning no earlier than one hour after sunrise, and end the same day no later than one hour before sunset – NO BURNING AT NIGHT.
    • Make sure the smoke does not blow towards a neighbor’s house or onto a road.
    • The burn must be downwind and at least 300 feet from structures on adjacent properties.
    • Only burn brush, tree limbs, grass clippings, leaves or household trash. The material MUST be generated from the property.  NO HAULING IN. NO BURNING OF CONSTRUCTION MATERIAL, HEAVY OILS OR CHEMICAL WASTES.
    • No burning if wind speeds (either constant or gusts) are greater than 23 mph.
    • To conduct prescribed burns, you must contact the Tarrant County Fire Marshal’s Office for approval.


    To report someone illegally burning outdoors, call the Tarrant County Fire Alarm Center at 817-232-9800 or the Tarrant County Sheriff’s Office at 817-884-1315.

    The authority to conduct outdoor burning under this regulation does not exempt or excuse any person responsible from the consequences, damages or injuries resulting from the burning and does not exempt or excuse anyone from complying with all other applicable laws or ordinances, regulations and orders of governmental entities having jurisdiction -- even though the burning is otherwise conducted in compliance with this regulation.

     

    Accessibility Notice: Due to the nature of these documents, they are provided as scanned images. If you require assistance in accessing the information, please contact the Fire Marshal's Office at 817-838-4660.